An unkept promise

October 26, 2015 § Leave a comment

I promised myself I’ll do something with my hands today. Instead, I’m sitting outside in my backyard, under the shade of the tree, eavesdropping on the cuckoo’s conversation, and watching the sunlight in the ground dance to the brezee of the leaves.

I could do so many things right now. Sing, dance, paint, walk, run, sleep, write, sculpt, build. Instead, I’m sitting outside in my backyard, and observing the three big black ants, with long thin legs, crawling the walls and the fallen leaves, scanning the air with their sensor tips, and finding their way to make a living.

I have all that I need to make something with my hands. Instead, I’m sitting outside in my backyard, and staring above at the sun glazed leaves, of three different trees, where life is nothing but quiet. A family of squirrels whir around the trees, their furry tails springing with ease, jumping from one brittle branch to another. There are crows too, the black headed ones, and cuckoos. They sing, fight, play… make peace, and find their own way. They too have a life to live and a race to run.

Today, I promised myself I’d do something with my hands. Instead, I’m sitting outside in my backyard, shirtless, trapped in time, listening to the not-so-hushed world around, and seeing more than my broken eyes could.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An unkept promise at Where is the Juice.

meta

